Follow Us On:

  Donate/Join the KBA 

                      CLICK  HERE                  

 

 

The Kernstown Battlefield 

is open on weekends 

from May through October

Saturdays 10am ~ 4pm

Sundays 11am ~ 4pm 

 

Opening day ~ May 7, 2016


~ Free Admission ~ 

Donations Appreciated

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Guided Battlefield Tours 

third Saturday monthly (May - October)

11:00am and 1:00pm

 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Guided Pritchard House Tours 

Saturday and Sunday, the second and fourth weekend of each month

($3 per person 12 years and over)

The 1854 Pritchard House
 


 





























































 




























 




















 











 




























































 








_________________________________________________



       ~ THE 2016 SEASON OPENING DAY IS SAT., MAY 7TH ~



                                                               HOURS:

                                                    Saturdays 10am - 4pm

                                                     Sundays 11am - 4pm


2016

      Tentative Schedule of Events

_____________________________________



Sat,  Mar 19 1st BATTLE OF KERNSTOWN SPECIAL COMMEMORATIVE 

9am WALKING TOUR with author/historial Gary Ecelbarger.

Join Mr. Ecelbarger as he takes you across the very fields

marched across by Jackson's Confederate units, and

stand atop Pritchard's Hill where the Union artillery units

stood. (Wear comfortable walking shoes and dress warmly.)


Sun, Mar 20 Museum and gift shop, self-guided walking tours.

11am - 4pm


Wed, Mar 23 154th Anniversary of the First Battle of Kernstown -

10am - 4pm Museum and gift shop open all day. Self-guided walking tours.




Sat,  Apr 16 Battlefield cleanup day #1. VOLUNTEERS NEEDED.

9:30am Come join us for our work days on Saturday, April 11th and April 18th.

Join a group of fun and intelligent historians and preservationists. 

Refreshments will be in abundance. Bring gloves, your favorite tools

and your sense of humor. 

Sat,  Apr 23 Battlefield cleanup day #2. VOLUNTEERS NEEDED.

9:30am See above.


Sun, Apr 24 VOLUNTEER TRAINING & ORIENTATION

1pm - 4pm


Sat,  May 7  2016 SEASON OPENING DAY

Sun, May 8 The Liberty Rifles will present living history demonstrations

10am - 4pm all day Saturday.


The event will focus on May of 1861 and the organizing of local

citizens into state service following Virginia's secession from the

Union. Participants will represent volunteers who eventually would

muster into Confederate service as Company D, 33rd Virginia Infantry.

These men, largely from the Winchester area, would serve in the

Stonewall Brigade and fight in both Kernstown battles.


Programs will cover Winchester's citizenry and their thoughts and

concerns on secession and the impending conflict, their views on

slavery and taking care of the young men bound for the front.

Representing a military camp of instruction, visitors will gain insight

into what a volunteer had to learn to become a soldier and how

that knowledge was put to use on future battlefields.

DOWNLOAD PROGRAM


Sat,  May 14 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


May 14 & 15 4th Virginia Infantry will present living history programs

Sat & Sun including infantry demonstrations and civilian life in the Valley during

the war, discussions about the unit history and its role in Jackson's

Valley Campaign of 1862. Visitors are invited to sit down to lunch

with the unit to see what the Civil War soldier cooked and hear 

discussions about why it means to be a reenactor. Daily programs will

commence at 10am, 11am, lunch at noon, 2pm and 3pm. 


Sat,  May 14     Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun. 

Sun, May 15


Sat, May 21 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, May 28 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, May 28 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, May 29


Sat, Jun 04 Battlefield Walking Tour with Mike Cannane

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jun 11 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jun 11 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Jun 12


Sat, Jun 18 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jun 25 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jun 25 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Jun 26


Sat, Jul 02 Battlefield Walking Tour with Mike Cannane

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jul 09 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jul 09 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Jul 10


Sat, Jul 16 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jul 23 Second Battle of Kernstown Commemoration

10am - 4pm    Periodically throughout the day: Pritchard House tours and live

artillery demonstrations. Battlefield walking tours. Living history.


Sun, Jul 24    Pritchard House tours.


Sat, Aug 06 Battlefield Walking Tour with Mike Cannane

11am & 1pm


Sat, Aug 13 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Aug 13 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Aug 14


Sat, Aug 20 "Winchester/Frederick County Civil War Weekend"

Sun, Aug 21 Periodically throughout the day: Battlefield Walking Tours

10am - 4pm with Roger Henderberg, Civil War era Civilian Lawn Party,

daily Pritchard House guided tours (other activities TBA).

(Civilian Reenactors click here for Lawn Party registration form.)


Sat, Aug 20 A BALL AT THE BATTLEFIELD with live musicians and dance

Evening instructor. Wear your finest Civil War costume or your Sunday

best and join in the fun. (Time TBA.)


Sat, Aug 27 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter


Sat, Aug 27 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Aug 28


Sat, Sep 03 Battlefield Walking Tour with Mike Cannane

11am & 1pm


Sat, Sep 10 "Caught Between the Lines: The Pritchard Farm During the

10:30am Second Battle of Kernstown", a walking battlefield tour

& 2pm with Prof. Jonathan Noyalas.


Sat,  Sep 10 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat,  Sep 10 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Sep 11


Sat, Sep 17 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Sep 24 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Sep 24 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Sep 25


Sat, Oct 01 Battlefield Walking Tour with Mike Cannane

11am & 1pm


Sat, Oct 08 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Oct 08 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Oct 09


Sat, Oct 15 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Oct 22 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Oct 22 Pritchard House tours, Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Oct 23


Sat, Oct 29 Battlefield Walking Tour with Steve Ritter

11am & 1pm


Sat, Nov 5 Frederick County Third Annual "Battlefield Half Marathon"

Sponsored by Frederick County Parks & Recreation


Sun, Nov 6 Veterans, Active Military, Law Enforcement and Fire &

Noon - 4pm Rescue APPRECIATION DAY - All welcome with families

for FREE picnic and tours


Sat, Dec 3 Fellowship Bible Church "Follow the Star"

Sun, Dec 4 Living Nativity Program

6-9pm nightly