Follow Us On:

  Donate/Join the KBA 

                      CLICK  HERE                  

 

 

The Kernstown Battlefield is open on weekends 

from May through October

Saturdays 10am ~ 4pm

Sundays Noon ~ 4pm 

 

Opening day ~ May 2, 2015


~ Free Admission ~ 

Donations Appreciated

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Guided Battlefield Tours 

third Saturday monthly (May - October)

11:00am and 1:00pm

 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Guided Pritchard House Tours 

Saturday and Sunday, the second and fourth weekend of each month

($3 per person 12 years and over)

The 1854 Pritchard House
 


 





























































 




























 




















 











 


 

_________________________________________________



2015

    Schedule of Events

_____________________________________

       The Kernstown Battlefield Opens to Visitors

        on Saturday, May 2nd

______________________________________________________




Sat,  Apr 11 Battlefield cleanup day #1. VOLUNTEERS NEEDED.

9:30am Come join us for our work days on Saturday, April 11th and April 18th.

Join a group of fun and intelligent historians and preservationists. 

Refreshments will be in abundance. Bring gloves, your favorite tools

and your sense of humor. 

Sat,  Apr 18 Battlefield cleanup day #2. VOLUNTEERS NEEDED.

9:30am See above.


Sat,  Apr 25 Volunteer Training & Orientation

9am - 1pm


Sat,  May 2 OPENING DAY

10am - 4pm


Sat,  May 9 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, May 10


Sat, May 16 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, May 23 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, May 24


Sat, Jun 13 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Jun 14


Sat, Jun 20 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jun 27 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Jun 28


Sat, Jul 11 Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Jul 12


Sat, Jul 18 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Jul 25 Second Battle of Kernstown Special Commemorative Tour:

10:30am "Caught in the Maelstrom: The Second Battle of Kernstown 

& 2:00pm and Its Impact on the Pritchard Family."  Join Prof. Jonathan A. Noyalas 

(Lord Fairfax Community College) for an approximately 90 minute walking 

tour which will examine the personalities and decisions of the largest 

engagement fought at Kernstown, as well as the battle's impact on the 

Pritchard Family, whose family farm became a magnet for armies of blue 

and gray throughout four years of hard war in the Shenandoah Valley.


Sat, Jul 25 LAWN PARTY WITH CIVILIAN REENACTORS

10am - 4pm Pack your picnic basket and join us for a day of summer fun

and relaxation. Games on the lawn to include croquet, horseshoes,

lawn bowling and bocce ball. Hot dogs and drinks available for 

purchase. FREE ADMISSION.

Sat, Jul 25    Pritchard House tours Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Jul 26


Sat, Aug 15 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Aug 22 Winchester/Frederick County Civil War Weekend

& Sun, Aug 23 ~ QUILT SHOW -- 1840s to 1900s antique quilts

10am - 4pm     from the collection of Dr. David & Ms. Jenny Powers

    daily     ~ Pritchard House Tours (admission $3) conducted hourly

Quilt show admission $5 (children 10 and under free)

Includes Prichard House tour.


Sat, Sep 12 Handley High School Judges Classic Invitational

6am - 3pm Cross Country Meet

DUE TO THIS EVENT NO BATTLEFIELD VISITATION TODAY


Sun, Sep 13 Pritchard House tours


Sat, Sep 19 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm



Sat, Sep 26 Shenandoah Univ. Cross Country event

7am - 11:30am


Sat, Sep 26 Pritchard House tours, Sat. and Sun. afternoons

Sun, Sep 27


Sat, Oct 10 Pritchard House tours, Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Oct 11


Sat, Oct 17 Battlefield Walking Tour with Roger Henderberg

11am & 1pm


Sat, Oct 24 Pritchard House tours, Sat. and Sun.

Sun, Oct 25


Sat, Nov 7 Frederick County Second Annual "Battlefield Half Marathon"


Sun, Nov 8 CELEBRATING OUR VETERANS

Noon - 4pm A free picnic for Veterans and their Families


Fri, Nov 13 Shenandoah University NCAA Regional Cross Country

& Sat, Nov 14 Championship competition


Sun, Nov 15 LAW ENFORCEMENT APPRECIATION DAY

Noon - 4pm A free picnic for members of our local law enforcement

community and their families.


Sat, Dec 5 Fellowship Bible Church "Follow the Star" Nativity Walk

& Sun, Dec 6

6-9pm nightly